2022/23 Annual Report, Walking Awards and AGM

Walking SA held its Annual General Meeting on Thursday 9th November at The Jade, with an attendance of people from member clubs, organisations, supporters and the public. We greatly appreciate the attendance and engagement with those there on the night.

Thank you to Travis Saunders who presented on challenges and strategies to enable more neurodivergent people to experience the life-changing benefits of bushwalking. Travis is a qualified bushwalking guide, accredited running coach and founder of Inclusive Trails; offering expeditions, bushwalking programs, run coaching and mentoring for neurodivergent adults. He has recently been awarded a Churchill Fellowship scholarship to “To investigate models of support that enable autistic people to access and enjoy bushwalking.”

Thanks to EXURBIA The Adventure Supply Co three random Lucky Door Prizes were drawn and won to spend in-store at EXURBIA: 1 x voucher valued at $200 to Liz O’Shea, and 1 x voucher valued at $100 Melanie Sjoberg, and 1 x voucher valued at $100 to Jeremy Carter.

Award Winners

We presented the awards for the annual Walking SA Walking Awards. The awards recognises and promotes the achievements and work of groups, organisations, local and state government, and volunteers in South Australia. The Awards process is an opportunity for public and peer recognition of achievements in walking, and demonstrates to volunteers, community groups, the recreation industry, business, government, and the wider community the significant and positive impact that can be achieved through improvements to walkability. This year the awards were expanded to include a new category, to an organisation or individual that makes walking more inclusive and an adjustment to an existing one, to value the commitment to walking of a volunteer.

Awards were presented to three organisations, a community group and one individual, celebrating their contribution to walking in South Australia. Awards were presented by Gabrielle (Gabby) Fisher, Wellbeing SA, and Rod Quintrell, Walking SA Chair.


We welcome Michelle Nash and Kristen Willson as new Board members, whilst thanking retiring Board members Jim McLean and Ian Radbone for their enthusiam and contribution to the Board over the past years. Both Jim and Ian will continue in their roles on the Walking for Recreation Committee and Walking for Transport Committees.

2022/23 Annual Report

The 2022/23 Annual Report was distributed at the AGM and Sharon Kelsey, Executive Director of Walking SA and Rod Quintrell, Chair, spoke to the report identifying a range of highlights from the past year.

We also presented “Our Walking Journey 2023 – 2025” – Walking SA’s strategic plan for the next 3 years.