About the Walking Route
Enjoy a stroll along the main street of Millicent and see historical buildings, beautiful gardens, murals and art and other places of interest.
Millicent was proclaimed in 1870 after a township developed on the limestone ridge in the centre of the newly drained Millicent flats. It is named after Millecent Glen (née Short), wife of one of the early pioneers and daughter of the first Anglican Bishop of Adelaide, Augustus Short. The town name was spelt wrong and was originally meant to be called ‘Millecent’ but a mistake sent to the government of the town’s name was ‘Millicent’.
The community group Imagine Millicent are making the town vibrant through public art works, with numerous murals and art works.